... and the winner is???

Roys Recovery – FJFC Awards Night

August 21, 2019

Preliminary Final Round – Sunday 25th August

Sponsored by Merriville Home


Join us to share the stories and events of the day from our SEVEN Preliminary Finals contenders… along with looking forward and analysing the Grand Finals ahead.

Join us as we present our prestigious Club Awards this Sunday.

James Doughney Club Champion of the Year Award

To be presented by Jamie Doughney.

Jamie Doughney

U14’s and over Boys & Girls eligible.

The James Doughney Club Champion of the Year award is the Club’s most prestigious player award and recognises outstanding contribution and talent, taking into consideration on and off field conduct and inter-league representation. Nominees must always uphold the Clubs cultural values, have played with the FJFC for at least four seasons, displayed on-field leadership and a commitment to fair play, and not been found guilty or suspended in the year of nomination by the FJFC, YJFL or any development squad.

Previous Winners

  • 2018   Rhys Seakins (Colts) and Maeve Barton (Youth Girls)
  • 2017 – Jack Hart (Colts) & Josh Ward (Under 14)
  • 2016 – Sunny Brazier (Colts) & Nell Morris-Dalton (Youth Girls)
  • 2015 – Campbell Moorfield (Colts) & Maddy Guerin (Youth Girls)
  • 2014 – Michael Ercolano (Colts) & Ellie McKenzie (U12 Gold)

2018 Club Champion – Rhys Seakins


2018 Club Champion – Maeve Barton

Brisbane-Fitzroy Historical Society (formerly Michael Wright)
Club Person of the Year Award

To be presented by Michael Wright.

Phil Murdoch, Michael Wright

This award recognises outstanding contribution to the ongoing development of the FJFC, community-based football and young people. Nomination usually reflects several years of service to the club in either administration or coaching and a commitment to the club values of participation, fitness and fun.

Previous Winners

  • 2018 – Denzil Flood
  • 2017 – John Ramshaw
  • 2016 – Jodie Munro
  • 2015 – Dean Robinson
  • 2014 – Craig Mitchell


2018 Club person of the Year – Denzil Flood

Volunteer Recognition

General volunteer recognition of the efforts put into making our Club a strong, vibrant and desirable place to be. These awards recognise an above and beyond contribution through-out the season.

Previous Winners


  • Justin Gray and Craig Mitchell
  • Daylon Seakins and Heather Munro
  • Sue-Lynn Kohr
  • Jen Pederson
  • Campbell and Emily McKie


  • Jan O’Meara
  • Dean Robinson
  • Linda Palmer


  • Family – Wayne Sievers, Izzy Sievers, Jodie Mercer
  • Family – Sally Wilcox & Crameri
  • Lesley Dredge


We gather in a family friendly, relaxed social environment at the Fitzroy Bowling Club, enjoy a meal, talk the tall and small stories with your fellow Roys members.

It’s a great excuse not to have to cook dinner, as the Bowling Club starts dinner service at around 5.30 pm (see menu below).

Children are not permitted on the Bowling Greens. Brunswick Street Oval lights will be on for kids who want to have a kick, however it is not supervised.


Looking forward to seeing you all there.

“It’s all about the Kids”

Go Roys!

Phil Murdoch
President FJFC